Ode to Peanut Butter

I don’t know about you, but I am crazy about peanut butter. It is the perfect compliment to so many foods. Peanut butter on a piece of grainy toast, peanut butter and chocolate, peanut butter and banana, peanut butter and apple, peanut butter and baby carrots (don’t knock it ’til you try it!), peanut butter on a piece of celery with raisins, peanut butter mixed into plain yogurt- i’ll stop myself now because we could be here all day. 

Being the peanut butter fanatic that I am, I have tried a wide array of peanut butters in my lifetime. Below you will find my personal favorites each delicious in their own way.  


This Wegman’s brand peanut butter is the best. It’s really chuncky and the peanut butter itself is super creamy with the perfect amount of salt. Unfortunately, the closest Wegman’s location is in NJ so if you’re ever in the area, be a doll and mail me some!


Smucker’s Natural is a great choice of creamy peanut butter. It spreads nice and  smooth and has a real peanuty taste. Just make sure to stir before eating because of the oil separation. I’m also all about these cute little travel size peanut butters. They’re great to throw in your purse with a banana for a quick snack when you’re on the run.

If your craving something sweet, I highly recommend Peanut Butter and Co. Cinnamon Swirl. This peanut butter is “get out the spoon” good. Peanut Butter and Co. makes lots of awesome flavored peanut butters including, honey peanut butter, white chocolate peanut butter, and even spicy peanut butter. They also have a Sandwich Shop in Greenwich Village that is definitely worth checking out. 

Trader Joes makes lots of great peanut butters but this one is my favorite. This crunchy peanut butter has roasted flax seeds mixed in (gotta get those omega-3s!). It’s on the saltier side but it makes a  nice compliment to a piece of fruit.

When you don’t have the luxury of shopping at a health food friendly market, Skippy Natural is a great alternative peanut butter option. It has the creamiest texture and really tastes “natural”, or at least more natural then regular Skippy. 

 

If you know of any yummy peanut butters leave me a post!

2 thoughts on “Ode to Peanut Butter

  1. Dear Kate,
    I must agree that Trader Joe’s peanut butter is the best. However, I find the salted peanut butter to be a little too salty. I do enjoy the unsalted chunky much better!
    Mom

  2. Mmm peanut butter…Kate, I agree; it is soooo good (hence the title of my blog). Personally, I really enjoy the Whole Foods’ brand because it is organic, but there is no icky oil separation : P

Leave a Reply

